Foot Health

Healthy Feet Tip #3 – Ditch Flip Flops

Today’s Healthy Feet Tip is one that not many people like to hear because people love flip flops. I understand that flips flops are easy to slip on and great for warm weather and the beach however wearing flip flops has significant negative effects on the health of the feet.

Katy Bowman does a great job of explaining how flip flops cause the feet to grip with each step. This gripping action causes tiny fractures of the feet thus setting yourself up for several foot related foot problems/issues, like bunions. Read more about How Flip Flops Change Your Feet to learn more.

Adding a strap around the heel can change the negative effects of flip flops on the feet.

On a recent visit to Target, I saw that they had several flip flops for children with straps around the heel for a very reasonable price.  The flip flops featured below are from Sanuk, which I just purchased for my son.

Last year, I  got these cute sandals for myself from Target.

For the diy person, you can even make your own sandals.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.